“Jesus, I trust in You.”

Recently, I met a boy at college, and a situation arose. I don’t want to go into detail, but I had four thoughts racing through my head afterwards: “Do I stay friends with him? This is all my fault. I think I’m supposed to lead him to Christ, but I feel like I’m leading him away. What do I do?” I immediately went and prayed in front of the Blessed Sacrament at a chapel nearby. I told Jesus what had happened and that I felt like He was telling me to lead this boy to Him, and that I wanted to forgive him, but I didn’t know how. I remember after this I just kept repeating, “Jesus, I trust in you. Jesus, I trust in you. Jesus, I trust in you….”

I kept blaming myself for what happened and thought it was entirely my fault. I went to confession and I told the priest what had happened, and he told me, “You need to forgive yourself too, because Christ already forgave you.” I was speechless for a second. I realized that whenever I did something that was wrong, I always asked for Christ’s forgiveness, but I never forgave myself.

After I finished my confession and did my penance, I decided that what I was supposed to do was pray for this person that hurt me, and I needed to pray that Jesus would help me forgive myself. I knelt down and offered up a Chaplet of Divine Mercy both for the person that hurt me and that I may feel God’s mercy in order to forgive myself. After I was done with the chaplet, I could feel God’s mercy washing over me. I could feel Him telling me that everything was okay and that He forgave me, and that I just needed to forgive myself.

The Divine Mercy message is so extremely meaningful to me. It’s mind-blowing to think that God the Almighty is also merciful and Father.

I will always lovingly repeat the words:

“Jesus I trust in you.”

 

Leave a Reply

