A Soul on Fire

If you know me well, you know how much I love my faith.

But it wasn’t always that way.

I have to admit that the only reason that I am still Catholic is because of the grace of God, and with a little help from my friends the saints, and some men I call Father.

Now my dad did help me stay Catholic, but  I’m specifically talking about priests in the Church.

My dad is a devout Catholic most of the times, goes to Mass on Sundays and is in Knights of Columbus, which is great, but that’s about the extent of it. I’m not saying he’s a terrible father by any means at all. I’ll put things this way: My dad feeds me physically. He works and puts food on the table, which is very very important. But I, along with everyone else needs spiritual food, and that’s where my other Father (a priest) comes in. It’s his job to feed my soul the truth of Sacred Scripture.

I never really realized how important a spiritual father was to me until I needed the sacraments.

A while ago, I was going through a really rough patch with depression and I knew that Satan was the one dragging me down telling me that nothing was going right (which was obviously wrong, because Satan is a jerk) and I went into the hospital.

In the Church, we have 7 sacraments, one being Anointing of the Sick. It used to be called last rights, but was changed, blah blah blah. Anyways I knew that I wasn’t as spiritually strong as I should be, so I called the rectory at church and asked if Father would come up and see me and bring me communion (the Eucharist) and give me Anointing of the Sick, so he did. I felt so gloomy and conflicted before hand, and after he gave me anointing of the sick and Jesus Himself, I was so at peace and joyful. The sacraments are SO powerful believe it or not.

After being in the hospital, I started to appreciate priests so much more, like, THEY MAKE JESUS. That’s pretty rad if you ask me. And Jesus wants these men to do that for us.  If you think being a priest is lame, think again.

Priests are father figures too. When ever I have some kind of spiritual conflict or religious issue, I call Father. I really feel like I should have the rectory on speed dial sometimes. But the important thing is that like a good dad, he is there to help me figure out what to do and give me advice.

I attend RCIA (Rite of Christian Initiation) at my parish and my priest actually teaches it. Let me tell you, you can learn so much more from a priest who’s gone to school for six years than a person who was in PSR for 10. He helped me realize not only just how important the Church is, but how important Christ is.

Because I started learning more, I wanted to learn more. I wanted to go to more youth conferences and to get involved with youth ministry at my parish. Learning about the faith is so important in order to keep it, otherwise you might lose it.

I have to admit that my priest isn’t really the only one who influenced me. I’ve met several priests on retreats and seen several during conferences that have helped me realize just how important the Church is. They are so on fire for their faith, and they helped ignite the fire inside of me just by being faithful servants of God.

Thank your priests, they are so awesome. Thank you for serving God, and leading us.

Totus Tuus ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

