Called to Dwell.

My absolute favorite thing is to go in to the church at night when all the lights are off and all I can see is the sanctuary lamp burning. In that quiet moment, I know He is there. Listening to me, wanting me to come to Him with all my pain, and suffering, and anxiety. Wanting me to lay it all down at His feet.

It’s a weird thing, because usually I’m scared of the dark. But Christ is the light of the world, so why should I fear the dark of night? That sanctuary lamp tells me that Christ is present with me in that moment. And not only that, but I feel different when I’m there. I feel His love, and mercy, and presence.

I started visiting Christ every day before I went into work. It became something I craved and something I couldn’t get enough of. And I still can’t. I sit in His presence and I don’t want to leave Him. His love sings to my heart and my soul is at peace.

Jesus calls us to truly dwell in His house.

I can truly say that when I am with Him, in the presence of the Eucharist, I am home. That’s why it’s so hard to leave, because why would you want to leave home. It’s where you’re understood. It’s where you’re loved and appreciated.

I offer up my prayers for those doubting the true presence, I’ve been there. But I can tell you:  He IS there, and in such a profound way. You just have to open your heart and let Him in. Let Him love you. Let Him mend your brokenness, because He will. And He wants to.

How lovely is your dwelling place.” -Psalm 84

Leave a Reply

