New Year’s Resolutions

That time has come again — another year has ended. At the beginning of a new year, a lot of people decide to make resolutions on things they are going to change or do in the next year. Usually I don’t really make resolutions, and if I do I hardly, if ever keep them.

This year things are going to change.

1. My spiritual life

I like to tell myself that I have a decent prayer life, and read my Bible like I’m supposed to, but I’ve come to realize that my prayer life could be a lot better and I should really crack out my Bible more often than I do.

I think my prayer life has definitely gotten better, but I’ve realized that I need to spend more time listening to what God is telling me, and less time asking him repeatedly what I’m supposed to do.

This year I have a couple of resolutions regarding my spiritual life:

  1. Attend Eucharistic Adoration more often
  2. Keep my devotion to the Blessed Mother
  3. Attend Mass (weekday) more often
  4. Read more religious books and the Bible more.
  5. Keep a daily journal

2. My physical health

I’ve realized that in the past year I’ve put on some extra pounds, and with college starting, I really need to get more active so I don’t continue to gain weight.

I also have a couple of resolutions regarding my physical health:

  1. Eat healthier
  2. Drink more water
  3. Exercise at least 3 times a week

I think that resolutions are important, and if we keep them in mind, we can achieve whatever we set our minds to.

Pax Christi

Leave a Reply

